Novak Djokovic defaulted from US Open after ball hits linesperson



Novak Djokovic has been disqualified from the US Open after unintentionally hitting a linesperson with a ball during his fourth-round match with Pablo Carreno Busta.

The world number one was broken in the 11th game to move 5-6 behind, subsequently turning and hitting in the ball in the direction of the line judge in a fit of frustration.

Djokovic was immediately concerned for the lineswoman, who went down in distress after an incident that appeared entirely unintentional.


The tournament supervisor was then called to the court, who held a lengthy conversation with the Serb, before confirming the decision that he had been defaulted.

Djokovic now exits the tournament, with Busta progressing to the quarter-final, where he will play the winner of Denis Shapovalov and David Goffin.

The world number one’s exit means this year’s US Open will be the first Slam without Djokovic, Roger Federer or Rafael Nadal in the semi-finals since the French Open in 2004.

More follows…



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: