England include Sophia Dunkley and Katie George for T20 series with West Indies

England Women have named a 16-strong squad for their five-match T20 series against West Indies later this month. 

Sophia Dunkley and Katie George come in to join the 15 which took part in the T20 World Cup in Australia earlier this year, with Georgia Elwiss absent through a back injury.

Some 24 players had gone into the biosecure bubble at the Incora County Ground in Derby ahead of the series, which begins on Monday. 

The eight who have not been selected will return to their regional teams for the final round of matches in the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy on Saturday, as well as the final of the competition on September 27, should they progress that far. 

South East Stars all-rounder Bryony Smith and Northern Diamonds left-arm spinner Linsey Smith are both on standby. 

The series will be played behind closed doors in a biosecure environment and will be the first time England’s female cricketers have played since the T20 World Cup semi-final back in February. 

The third T20 on September 26 will be shown live on the BBC and Sky Sports and will be the first time women’s international cricket in the UK has been on free-to-air television since the 1993 Women’s World Cup final. 

Lisa Keightley, the England women head coach, said: “It’s been a challenging summer for everyone and we are privileged to be in a position to play an international series, and to get the chance to showcase the women’s game. 

“We have worked hard since the group came back together in preparation for this series and we’re in a great place going into the Vitality IT20s against West Indies.”

The West Indies arrived in the UK on August 31, and both teams have been playing intra-squad warm-up matches in Derby over the past fortnight.

England Women squad to face West Indies:

Heather Knight (Western Storm), Tammy Beaumont (Lightning), Katherine Brunt (Northern Diamonds), Kate Cross (Thunder), Freya Davies (South East Stars), Sophia Dunkley (South East Stars), Sophie Ecclestone (Thunder), Katie George (Western Storm), Sarah Glenn (Central Sparks), Amy Jones (Central Sparks), Nat Sciver (Northern Diamonds), Anya Shrubsole (Western Storm), Mady Villiers (Sunrisers), Fran Wilson (Sunrisers), Lauren Winfield (Northern Diamonds), Danni Wyatt (Southern Vipers)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: